Chicken Pomodoro

I like to keep my recipes in file folders, that way I can quickly access them by category.  I tried using one of those recipe binders that come with those fancy recipe cards and have tabs and such.  But I never understood why I had to re-write the recipes on those tiny index cards that inevitably run out before I get passed by hors d’ouerve section.

In my files I have one folder entitled “Favorites“.  These are my go-to tried and true recipes that are the cornerstone of my cooking.  This recipe is in that file.  I love how simple it is to prepare yet how flavorful it is.  It has that “wow” factor for whomever you’re serving it to.  Tonight, it just so happened to be my parents, whom I cooked a Valentine’s dinner for … complete with chocolate covered strawberries for dessert.  (I should definitely score some good daughter points for that)

Check out this recipe and give it a whirl.  My hunch is it will wind up in your favorites folder too.

Chicken Pomodoro

Ingredients:

  • 4 Chicken cutlets
  • 2 Tbs Oil
  • 1/4 Cup of vodka
  • 1/2 Cup chicken broth
  • 2 Tbs Fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 Cup chopped tomatoes
  • 2 Tbs Heavy cream (I use non-fat half and half)
  • 1/3 Cup scallions, sliced

Preparation:

  • Season the cutlet with salt & pepper.  Dust with flour.  Add oil to saute pan and cook on both sides for approximately 5 minutes (Your cutlets should be thin.  If they are thick you will need to cook longer)
  • Transfer cutlets to a platter and pour off the fat
  • Deglaze with vodka (away from the flame!) and cook until nearly evaporated
  • Add broth and lemon juice.  Return cutlets to the pan and cook 1 minute more on each side.  Transfer to your serving platter
  • Add tomatoes and cream to your sauce.  Salt and pepper to taste
  • Pour sauce over cutlets and garnish with scallions
One thought on “Chicken Pomodoro

Leave a Reply

