Pluggin’ Along …

I’m a small business.  In fact I’m so small that when I’m not in the office … no one is.

Translation:  Everything falls onto my shoulders.  

I started this business on a whim back in 2012 and since than, it’s been a huge learning process.  I mean, I didn’t even know how to sew let alone launch an accessory line.  But I dove into the deep end and since than have been trying to keep my head above water, gracefully.

Owning your own one-man (or woman) company means that everything falls squarely on your shoulders.  From sourcing fabrics and suppliers to social media management to product design and production to sales and marketing … and don’t get me started on accounting.  It’s exhausting and exhilarating all at the same time.

It’s great to be a solo act at times.  Other times, it sucks.

But I’m determined, determined to make this a lucrative and successful company for many reasons.  I believe that is what will be the determining factor in my success.  I have grit and passion for these bags and the success of my company.  I’m down in the trenches doing everything I can to ensure success.  The reason?  I truly believe in the need for my products and I want to give my customers a superior product that they will truly love.

One thing that I love to do is help out other small businesses along the way.  When I can, I source my supplies to small shops like myself.  After all, we have to support each other.

One of my recent finds is a fellow Etsy shop Homegrown Creativity.   I decided to source my hang tag production to the shop’s owner Marie.  She has a great little store that offers customized display products and standard business products (like business cards and stickers).

il_570xN.915636916_jgvb

Three things I love about her shop?

  1. She offers recycled paper options (which I purchased for my new hang tags)
  2. She offers a variety of style options
  3. She is so easy to work with and super responsive

She also offers custom orders, sells accessories for your products (think colored twine for your tags) and her prices are perfect for a small business such as myself.

il_570xN.825251766_o4hh

I just got my package of hang tags in the mail yesterday and I love, love, love them!  It’s people like Marie at Homegrown Creativity that takes some of that pressure off my shoulders.

Now, back to the grindstone.

 

 

Leave a Reply

