German Shepherd Dumped Over His Size

I was (and still am) heartbroken when a friend forwarded me this article from the Examiner via Facebook.   Apparently on January 8th this beautiful German Shepherd was dumped at the Carson Animal Care Center by his family.  Why did they turn him over to a shelter?  According to the family, “the dog grew too big”.

Wait … what?!?    You mean your German Shepherd Dog grew out of his puppy size and grew into a full-sized German Shepherd?  How dare he!

I am outraged.  Truly.  I have a German Shepherd who I rescued at the age of one and a half years.  He was dumped after having been mistreated by his owner, thankfully at a wonderful center called German Shepherd Rescue .  The woman couldn’t handle his large size and after neglecting him, brought him to the center.

When I found my dog, Wolfe, he looked just as sad as Oso looks.  No dog understands why their “pack” abandons them, but a GSD even more so.  They are such loyal dogs, sworn to live, breath and protect their pack … so when they are abandoned, they take it really hard.  My Wolfe was sad, refusing to eat, skin and bones, and very sick.   It took a while for him to realize that I wasn’t going to leave him or hurt him as his previous owner did.  Within a few short months, he was healthy, gaining weight, and realizing that he was loved and part of a pack … forever.

Today, we can’t imagine life without him.  He makes my little girl squeal with laughter when our 85 lb plus GSD tickles her with his nose or plays hide-and-seek with her.  He is my rock and has been there to lick my tears, listen to me complain, protect me and make me laugh.  On my saddest days, he’s right by my side, unconditionally.

IMG_2952

 

Every dog owner, scratch that, every PET owner has a responsibility to their pet to care for them and take care of them.   That is the pact you make when you buy them, adopt them, or rescue them.  Part of that responsibility is knowing the breed before obtaining them to ensure they are a right fit for you and your lifestyle.  There is plenty of information online to ensure you can find the right pet for you.  Anything other than that is simply irresponsible.

To take in a pet only to abandon them later is nothing short of cruel.

Unfortunately, I cannot take in Oso, otherwise I would.  So I feel it’s my obligation to help him find his forever home by spreading the word about his sad story.  My hope is that he will find a loving family who will appreciate him for who he is instead of punishing him for it.  I know in my heart he will have a bright ending to this sad time.

Please share his story and give a voice to those without.

 

 

One thought on “German Shepherd Dumped Over His Size

  1. Daisy C Chan

    The story of Oso made me sad. You didn’t know your dog was supposed to grow? Seriously.

    You’re completely right, owners have a responsibility to their pet. Their dog only knows how to show unconditional love and loyalty. They are with us even during the darkest times. They know nothing else but to love. I would never abandon Hunter.

    Like

Leave a Reply

